The Fastest 18 I’ve Ever Played

I don’t do it often. No time. Too many competing joys, family and school and teaching. I actually can’t remember when I last did it. But with the school year approaching, I thought, “It’s now or who knows when.” So last night, I started Par for the Course by Ray Blackston. I finished it this morning—250 pages in less time than it takes to play 18. Now, I read all the time, just never big gulps like this. My usual intake includes a sip here, a sip there. So I splurged.

Blackston is not your Pulitzer Prize winner, and since he is in the Christian market, will probably not show up on the NY Times bestseller list. But he is funny. And that is why I read it. I have read his four others and enjoyed them all for the same reasons: light hearted, funny, and with just enough theology thrown in to make you think—nothing over the top, no bashing, often subtle. As is often the case in writing, the second half of the book lacked the style of the first (do authors and editors just get tired?). But I was not reading for literary genius. I was reading to be entertained. And I was.

Set in South Carolina, Par for the Course is a romantic comedy about Chris (driving range instructor) and Molly (political correspondent) and their long distance relationship. Chris, living in Charleston has to deal with feminists, arsonists, and alligators as he seeks to win Molly’s affections. While the political jabs are aimed at both parties, the left gets the more direct shots as might be expected from the author. Being a once avid golfer and now a wish-I-was-an-avid golfer, I felt comfortable with the golf theme and enjoyed the nostalgia of my high school days of daily golf. 

A fun read and worth the few hours I spent on it. Looking forward to his next book.

Leave a Reply

