Ignoring the tension

“It was like certain dinners I remember from the war. There was much wine, an ignored tension, and a feeling of things coming that you could not prevent happening. Under the wine I lost the disgusted feeling and was happy. It seemed they were all such nice people.” The Sun Also Rises Chapter 13

Sometimes people deal with others who disgust them by drinking: nobody quite as offensive that way. As I was reading this, a person came to mind. Now this person does not behave quite like the person Jake was referring to, but this person does get on my nerves. I’m not into drinking. (Can’t really stand the taste of the stuff. Someone once told me that it was an acquired taste. I’ve also heard that about foods like intestines, bugs, and dung.)

So how can I deal with people who get on my nerves? And what do I do with this sort of whiny person that came to mind as I was reading? Never ask the question if you really don’t want the answer. The next thought that came to mind was “Love your enemy and pray for those who persecute you.” Hmmm… This person is not my enemy, nor do I feel particularly persecuted—bothered, annoyed, but not persecuted.

And that is the point. If I am to do that for an enemy, why can’t I do that for the annoying person. So, because I will have contact with this person off and on over the next few weeks due to circumstances, I will do two things: 1) I will pray (daily), mainly for me and my attitude, but also this person. 2) Because love is an action and not a feeling, I will come up with some action that is loving. Don’t know what that is yet, but I am sure something will “come to mind.”

One thought on “Ignoring the tension

Leave a Reply

